Ministry of Education (MOE) Celebrates the Lighthouse School’s ‘Good’ Rating

Print More

The following is a press release from the Ministry of Education:

On Thursday (17 June), the Minister for Education Hon. Juliana O’Connor-Connolly hosted a special assembly at the Lighthouse School to celebrate its ‘Good’ rating in the April 2021 Office of Education Standard (OES) inspection.

The Education Minister congratulated the school for its achievement and urged the staff and students to continue to improve on this success.

“Congratulations on your outstanding achievement. The Lighthouse School is perhaps one of the most challenging of our educational institutions, and achieving a good rating on two consecutive occasions speaks volumes about public education in the Cayman Islands.

“We have arrived at another milestone in our upward trajectory, and I am confident that with continued hard work and dedication, we will continue to improve on our ratings and the quality of education that we provide to the children of the Cayman Islands,” Minister O’Connor-Connolly remarked.

Also in attendance was His Excellency, Governor Martyn Roper. He, too, congratulated the school for its success and recognised the various stakeholders for their part in the school’s achievement.

“Good is the second highest performance rating that a school can achieve in an OES inspection. To be rated good for the second time is certainly an outstanding achievement. As such, I want to pay tribute to the students and staff of the Lighthouse School and the Minister for Education and her team for their fantastic efforts that have resulted in this remarkable achievement,” Mr. Roper stated.

In her vote of thanks, Acting Principal Ms. Janice Headley recognised the members of the school community for their support throughout the years. “I wish to recognise past principal, Ms. Carla McVicar and Mr. Elroy Bryan, for putting systems in place that we have been able to develop in order to reap this tremendous success.”

Ms. Headley further recognised the members of her staff and the synergy of their combined efforts by way of a special presentation.

Throughout the assembly, members of the audience witnessed several presentations and performances from Lighthouse School students and staff. These included songs from Yadah Miller and Shaquan Connor, a musical selection by the Lighthouse School ensemble, and dance performances from a group of Year 7-9 students and National Festival of the Arts (NCFA) silver medalists Averie Bush and Donte Dunbar.

Also on the agenda was Dr. Aidan Tumilty, MoE Senior Policy Advisor & Manager, Inclusion, who delivered welcome remarks.  LHS educator Mr. Andre Turner offered the opening prayer, and Acting Senior School Improvement Officer Mr. Elroy Bryan emceed the programme.

Others in attendance at the assembly were Parliamentary Secretary Hon. Katherine Ebanks-Wilks, Chief Officer Ms. Cetonya Cacho, Deputy Chief Officer Lyneth Monteith, Department of Education Services (DES) Acting Director Mrs. Tammy Hopkins, Head of Business Services Mr. Mark Ray, Senior School Improvement Officers, other DES representatives, LHS Past Principal Ms. Carla McVicar and members of the Home School Association (HSA).

To learn more about Cayman Islands Government Schools, visit

Comments are closed.