John Gray High School Celebrates ‘Good’ Rating

Print More

The following is a press release from the Ministry of Education:

Education Minister Hon. Juliana O’Connor-Connolly and a host of distinguished guests, including His Excellency Governor Martyn Roper and Deputy Governor Hon. Franz  Manderson joined students and staff in the John Gray High School Gymnasium on Wednesday morning (23 June) at a special assembly to celebrate the school’s ‘Good’ rating in the April 2021 Office of Education Standards (OES) inspection.

The second in a series of special school assemblies, was chaired by student leaders Jelani Hanson and Keanna Kelly and opened by Year 8 student Jerrin Reynolds-Velasquez, and showcased the exceptional student leadership and improved student progress mentioned in the OES inspection report.

Minister O’Connor-Connolly congratulated the school on its achievement and for providing each of its students with an equal opportunity to flourish.

“The Ministry of Education’s modus operandi is that no child is left behind and so, I was particularly pleased to see the range of students who participated in the assembly. I thank the principal and staff of the John Gray High School for regarding our students in such a manner where there is no partiality, only an equal playing field where every child matters,” the Minister commented.

Governor Martyn Roper also congratulated the school on its achievement and urged the members of the school body to celebrate each victory.

“Congratulations on being rated ‘Good’, which is the second-highest of the four available ratings. You are on the way to becoming a world-class institution. The Deputy Governor often reminds me that there should be no silent victories. So we should shout about this from the rooftop as this is something to be celebrated,” remarked Governor Roper.

Although not present at the assembly, OES Director Mr. Nicholas Sherriff reemphasised the significance of the achievement, stating, “It is a well-earned judgement for all the hard work.”

He continued, “You should be very proud of your schools, the staff and yourselves. We bring international inspectors from around the world to inspect our schools; therefore, remember that your rating of ‘Good’ is comparable to other Good ratings from around the world.”

The assembly also featured musical items from the JGHS Dream Team Steelpan and Pop bands, a PowerPoint presentation by Mr. Glenn Whewell and a video-recorded musical tribute to the staff.

The vote of thanks was delivered by Parliamentary Secretary for Education, Hon. Katherine Ebanks-Wilks while Pastors Cassius Feare and Christopher Murray offered the opening and closing prayers. Raldayne Thomas presented a donation to Alex Panton Foundation representative, Mr. Shane Purcell, and Kaylee Miller, Demeris Celestine, Erin Bush, Hannah Brooks, Celena Celestine, Shaquilla Gordon sang the National Anthem and Song.

Also in attendance at the assembly were Chief Officer Ms. Cetonya Cacho, Deputy Chief Officers Ms. Lyneth Monteith & Mr. Joel Francis, Department of Education Services (DES) Acting Director Mrs. Tammy Hopkins, Senior School Improvement Officers Messrs. Nicholas Obie, Ian O’Connor and Elroy Bryan, Senior Manager – Data & Testing Services & CXC Local Registrar Mr. Wintgrove Hunt,  Head of Business Services Mr. Mark Ray,  other MoE and DES representatives and members of the Parent Teachers Association (PTA).

To learn more about Cayman Islands Government Schools, visit

Comments are closed.