Department of Education Services Releases Start Dates for New Academic Year

Print More

The following is a press release from the Department of Education Services:

The Department of Education Services (DES) has released the dates when government schools on all three islands, including primary, secondary, the Lighthouse School and the Cayman Islands Further Education Centre (CIFEC), will reopen for regularly enrolled students.

All government primary and high schools, including Little Cayman Education Services, are scheduled to reopen for all students on Monday, 30 August 2021.

Year 12 students enrolled at CIFEC are required to go to the institution for consultation and guidance based on the first letter of their surname from 30 August 2021.

School Orientation for New and Transfer Students 

Orientation Day provides new students and their parents with essential information for successful integration into the new learning environment. Parents are required to accompany their children to Orientation Day, which is mandatory for any student entering a government school for the first time.

Primary school schedule

High school schedule

CIFEC schedule

To learn more or to access the complete 2021/2022 academic school calendar, visit

Comments are closed.