John Gray High School Retains Title as Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Champions for 5th Year

Print More

The following is a press release from the Department of Education Services:

John Gray High School (JGHS) retained its place as Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Champions for the fifth consecutive year after three days (March 22-24) of intense competition at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex.

Outstanding performances from divisional champions Krystal Campbell (under 12), Jaysean Seymour (under 12), Martine McKenzie (under 14), Jeremiah Rankin (under 14), Andrew Stone (under 16), Aaliyannah Anderson (under 16) and Martinez McKenzie (under 18) provided 212 of the 975 points that the team amassed to earn another victory.

Clifton Hunter High School (CHHS) placed second with 881.5 points and Cayman Academy third with 257 points.

The Head of the Local Organising Committee, Mrs. Gloria Bell, congratulated the schools and athletes for their performance. “Congratulations to the team from John Gray High School for retaining the championship for the fifth consecutive year and all participating schools and athletes for your hard work and dedication.”

“Over the past three days, we have witnessed marvellous performances and inspiring displays of sportsmanship from our young athletes. I can safely say that the future of local sports looks quite promising.”

Other outstanding performers included Under 18 champions Deneisha Taylor from University College of the Cayman Islands (UCCI) Dual Entry, Brianna Smith from Cayman Prep & High School, Rudolph Powell (CHHS) and Under 20 champion Jaheim Ramoon from Grace Christian Academy.

His Excellency Governor Martyn Roper, Minister of Home Affairs, Youth, Sports, Culture and Heritage Hon. Bernie Bush, DES Director Mr. Mark Ray and Director of Sports Mr. Kurt Hyde attended and delivered remarks.

Other notable attendees included Deputy Premier Hon. Chris Saunders, Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministries of Housing, Transport and Labour, Mr. Dwayne Seymour, and MoE Deputy Chief Officer Ms. Lyneth Monteith.

To learn more about other DES programmes and activities, visit the Department of Education’s website at

Comments are closed.