Red Bay Primary School Retains Title as Inter-Primary Sports Champion

Print More

The following is a press release from the Department of Education Services:

Red Bay Primary School (RBPS), on Friday afternoon (8 April), amassed 284.9 points to retain its title as Inter-Primary Schools Sports Champion for the fifth consecutive year.

Prospect Primary School (PPS) placed second with 272 points, while third place in the three-day athletic meet, held at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex, went to Joanna Clarke Primary School (JCPS) with 232.5 points.

Cayman Academy and Triple C School placed first and second in the small schools’ category.

Head of the Local Organising Committee, Mrs. Gloria Bell, congratulated Red Bay Primary on its victory, adding, “Throughout this year’s meet we have witnessed exciting performances from our student-athletes in the culmination of primary schools’ physical education syllabus. I am pleased to see the athletic prowess and spirit of camaraderie that our young participants have demonstrated throughout the meet and look forward to their continued growth and development.”

Director of Sports Mr. Kurt Hyde expressed his delight at the opportunity to partner with the Department of Education Services (DES) for the Inter-Primary/Secondary School competitions. “He stated, “The collaboration between DES & DOS makes these spectacular sporting events possible. A lot of work happens behind the scenes, but we welcome it, as these two events allow our kids to compete and showcase their talents.”

Mr. Hyde thanked all of those who contributed to the success of the schools’ sporting meets, describing Mrs. Bell and School Sports Coordinator (DOS) Ms. Cherry Whittaker’s efforts as ‘outstanding’.

First Baptist Christian School’s Keion McLean was named Division Five Champion, and Victor Ludorum (overall individual high point winner male), having won the 100-metre dash, the 200-metre run and the 800-metre run.

Victrix Ludorum (overall individual high point winner female) went to George Town Primary School student and Division Four Girls Champion Jeleah Maize. She won the 100-metre dash, 200-metre run, 800-metre Run and the Division Five Girls’ Long Jump competition.

Other exceptional athletes included Division One champions Jazmyn Beckford (JCPS) and Seth Mason (PPS), as well as Division Two champions Sophie Lyne (Cayman International School), Aiden Wilson (Sir John A Cumber Primary) and Nathaniel Haye (RBPS). Prospect Primary’s Jahriah Ngyou and Theoline McCoy Primary’s Oshawney Johnson were declared Division Three champions. Cayman Prep & High School’s Zara Maharaj and Joanna Clarke Primary School’s Kobi Sloely were named Champion Girl and Boy for Division Four.

Notable attendees included Minister for Education Hon. Juliana O’Connor-Connolly, who officially opened day one of the meet. Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministries of Housing, Transport and Labour, Mr. Dwayne Seymour, provided remarks and DES Director Mr. Mark Ray gave the welcome address.

Also in attendance were Ministry of Education Chief Officer Ms. Cetonya Cacho, Deputy Chief Officer Ms. Lyneth Monteith, and Director of Sports Mr. Kurt Hyde, all of whom assisted with medal presentations.

To learn more about other DES programmes and activities, visit the Department of Education’s website at

Comments are closed.